Memoir about Home-Peer Review

I think it’s incredible that you’ve lived in one place for your entire life, that’s something I can’t relate to. You gave great details in your first two paragraphs. I really felt like I was walking through your house and seeing things through your eyes. I pictured your family sitting around the oval table for a holiday gathering. The message I got from your piece was that you were proud of your home; the pictures, the trophies, and the medals. You described it as being lived in, as a home full of people and family gatherings should be. I like the lines “the rocking chair could no longer be trusted with human weight,” “deck has seen better days with chipped wood and creaking floorboards,” and “flooring with major scratches and scuffs.” I picture all the family gatherings that have caused the wear and tear in your home. Think about a transition between your second and third paragraphs. It was a little confusing because you were describing your house in specific detail in the first two paragraphs then it switched to a party. Your most successful aspects were definitely the first two paragraphs. They were full of sensory details that put me on a virtual tour of your house. Overall good first draft.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *